Subscribe to our e-newsletter mailing list to keep up with NCCCO news and industry headlines.


Organizational Structure

The National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators (NCCCO) is structured to allow fair representation from all industries that use cranes. This diversity is reflected at all three major levels of the organization including: the Board of Directors, Commissioners, and Committees.

Board of Directors

Board members serve three-year terms. Officers are re-elected annually. The Board establishes policy, sets strategic goals, and assumes fiscal responsibility for the organization.

PRESIDENT: J. Kerry Hulse, Deep South Crane & Rigging

VICE PRESIDENT: Peter Juhren, Morrow Equipment Co.

SECRETARY/TREASURER: Tim Watters, Hoffman Equipment


CHAIRMAN, COMMISSIONERS: Ellis Vliet, Turner Industries (Ret)

James T. Callahan, International Union of Operating Engineers

William (Bill) Davis, Zurich Services Corp.

Pete Laux, Kiewit Companies

Stephanie Wood, Terex Cranes


NCCCO has provision for 30 Commissioners, representing 10 broad industry groups. These groups make policy recommendations and oversee the activities of the main committees that report to the NCCCO Board of Directors and Commissioners. Commissioners are also entitled to nominate one Alternate. Current Commissioners and Alternates include:

Keith Adolf, Equipment Training Solutions

Tim Arkilander, Palfinger. N.A.

Daniel Bishop, The Crosby Group

Bo Collier, Crane Tech

Charles Cooke, W.O. Grubb Steel Erection

Larry DeMark, ETS, LLC

Daniel Dickey, Cianbro Corp.

David Doherty, Cianbro Corp.

William (Hank) Dutton, Travelers Insurance

Dennis Eckstine, Eckstine & Associates, Inc.

Matthew Eckstine, Eckstine & Associates, Inc.

Bill Erwin, Erwin Crane

Thomas Gordon, IUOE Local 14

Brian Haight, Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries

Brian Hill, Manitowoc Crane Care

Jim Jacobs, IUOE Local 3

Don Jordan, American International Crane Bureau

David Judy, IUOE Local 18

Peter Juhren, Morrow Equipment Company, LLC

Troy Krumm, Link-Belt Cranes

William LaFlamme, IUOE Local 4

Pete Laux, Kiewit

Todd Liebelt, Operating Engineers Local 139

Beth O’Quinn, Specialized Carriers & Rigging Association

David Ritchie, Dave Ritchie Consultant LLC

J. Chris Ryan, Boh Bros. (Ret)

Derek M. Sather, IUOE Local 324

Brandon Savage, Philips 66

Fred Simmons, Foley Material Handling Co., Inc.

Travis Simmons, IUOE Local 673

Bill Smith, NationsBuilders Insurance Services

Jeffery Smith, ExxonMobil

James Strobush, Liebherr

Dan Sullivan, IUOE Local 542

Chris Treml, International Union of Operating Engineers

Gary Via, TNT Crane & Rigging

Jorge Vial, Vial Equipment Sales & Service

Ellis Vliet, Turner Industries (Ret)

J.R. Williams, Crane Inspection & Certification Bureau (CICB)

Charles Wigger, Lamar Advertising


NCCCO develops and maintains its certification programs through committees that report to the Board of Directors. A total of 10 Exam Management Committees are responsible for monitoring certification examinations for mobile (written exams and practical exams), tower, overhead, and articulating crane operators, digger derrick operators, crane inspectors, and lift directors, as well as signalpersons and riggers. Committee members suggest revisions to NCCCO’s testing procedures; work with and monitor the administration of the exams; oversee the work of item writers; monitor and oversee testing companies that may be contracted with for exam development and/or administration; and collect data necessary for psychometrically sound examinations.

Additional committees that play an important role in the review, discipline, and appeals processes include: the Ethics and Discipline Committee responsible for establishing standards of conduct—such as ethical standards, policies, and procedures for disciplinary action—and for implementing those standards, policies, and procedures; the Appeals Committee responsible for establishing policies and procedures for hearing appeals of decisions and for hearing such appeals; and the Practical Exam Audit Committee (PEAC) responsible for establishing and maintaining NCCCO’s rigorous audit program.